Constitutional Convention Journal/1 Approved 1/5/56

## ALASKA CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

JOURNAL OF THE FIRST CONVENTION DAY, November 8, 1955

The Alaska Constitutional Convention was called to order by B. Frank Heintzleman, Governor of Alaska, at 10 a.m.

Invocation was given by Rev. Roy Ahmoagak.

Mr. Robert J. McNealy. Delegate from the Fourth Division, offered the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that the reading of the certificate of election of the respective Delegates, be dispensed with and that the certificate of the Secretary of Alaska as to their election be accepted in lieu thereof.

"FURTHER RESOLVED, that each Delegate who has answered the roll call and whose name appears on the certificate of the Secretary of Alaska take and subscribe an oath or affirmation of office to be administered by the Honorable Vernon D. Forbes, Judge of the United States District Court of Alaska, Fourth Division, and that each Delegate so sworn shall be deemed to have been duly seated."

and asked unanimous consent. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Governor Heintzleman appointed John B. Hall, Clerk of the District Court. to act as Temporary Secretary of the Convention.

Secretary Hall called the roll of Delegates which showed 53 present and 2 absent -- Frank Barr and Frank Peratrovich being absent.

The Oath of Office was administered by Judge Vernon D. Forbes.

Governor Heintzleman addressed the Convention.

Addresses of Welcome were given by Dr. Ernest N. Patty on behalf of the University of Alaska, by Mr. Kenneth Carson on behalf of the Associated Students of the University of Alaska and by Douglas G. Preston, Mayor of Fairbanks.

Governor Heintzleman called for nominations for Temporary Chairman of the Convention.

Mr. Victor Rivers nominated Mrs. Mildred R: Hermann.

Mr. John H. Rosswog nominated Mr. William Egan.

Mr. John S. Hellenthal offered the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that the Convention choose a temporary President by a vote of 28 Delegates, by call of the roll, each Delegate rising in his place? as his name is called and stating his choice."

Mr. Ralph Rivers moved that the nominations be closed and asked unanimous consent. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

The roll was called with the following result:

- Hermann: 30 Armstrong, Awes, Boswell, Coghill, Collins, Cooper, Cross, Gray, Hilscher, Johnson, King, Lee, Londborg, McCutcheon, McLaughlin, McNealy, McNees, Marston, Nerland, Nolan, Reader, Riley, Victor Rivers, Robertson, Stewart, Smith, Sundborg, Taylor, White, Wien.
- 22 Buckalew, Davis, Doogan, Egan, Emberg, Egan: Helen Fischer, Victor Fischer, Harris, Hellenthal, Hinckel, Hurley, Kilcher, Knight, Laws, Metcalf, Nordale, Poulsen, Ralph J. Rivers, Rosswog, Sweeney, VanderLeest, Walsh.

2 - Barr, Peratrovich Absent:

Not Voting: 1 - Hermann was elected.

Mr. Egan moved and asked unanimous consent that the record show that a unanimous ballot was cast for Mrs. Hermann. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Governor Heintzleman asked that Mr. Hall continue in the capacity of Temporary Secretary.

Mr. Knight moved and asked unanimous consent that Mr. Hall continue to act as Secretary. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

mr. Governor Heintzleman appointed E. B. Collins, R. Rolland Armstrong and W. W. Laws to escort the Temporary Chairman to the Chair.

mr.

Mrs. Hermann introduced Delegate Bartlett who spoke on "Meeting the Challenge".

Former Governor Ernest Gruening was introduced and was given a standing ovation and gave a brief address.

Mr. Robert B. Atwood, Chairman of the Alaska Statehood Committee, then addressed the delegates.

- 2 -

Mr. Davis moved for the adoption of the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that the temporary President appoint a temporary Committee on Rules of nine Delegates, who shall promptly prepare and report to the Convention its recommendations for temporary rules for the Convention, including special rules for the election of permanent officers of the Convention."

Mr. Taylor seconded. Mr. Ralph Rivers asked unanimous consent. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

The Temporary President announced she would need more time to consider the appointment of the Rules Committee.

Mr. Hilscher moved and asked unanimous consent for the adoption of the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that the Convention hereby expresses its appreciation of the facilities made available by the University of Alaska."

There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Mr. Johnson moved for the adoption of the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that in order to facilitate the recording of these proceedings, no Delegate speak unless he or she is recognized by name by the Chairman, and no Delegate speak unless he or she does so from a microphone."

Mr. Kilcher objected. The motion died for lack of a second.

Mr. Riley moved and asked unanimous consent that the Convention recess until 3 o'clock.

Mr. Rivers amended the motion to read 2 o'clock. Mr. Riley accepted the amendment. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

AFTER RECESS

Temporary President Hermann called the convention to order at 2:15 p.m.

Mrs. Hermann announced the following Committee on Rules: Riley, Chairman; Sundborg, Walsh, McNees, McCutcheon, Davis, Nerland, Ralph Rivers, Awes.

Mr. V. Rivers moved and asked unanimous consent that the bus service be chartered on Wednesday and that permanent arrangements be made after the Convention is organized. Mr. Taylor objected.

After discussion, Mr. Taylor withdrew his objection. There being no further objection, the motion was adopted.

Mr. Sundborg moved and asked unanimous consent that the Convention invite former Governor Gruening to address the delegates at 10:00 o'clock Wednesday morning. There being no chieckion, it was so ordered.

Mr. Riley announced a meeting of the Rules Committee on adjournment.

Mr. Taylor moved adjournment until 10:00 o'clock Wednesday morning. Mr. Ralph Rivers seconded and asked for unanimous consent. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

> John B. Hall Temporary Secretary

Attested:

Mildred Hermann Temporary President